An Interview With Talented Filmmaker James Hill About His Career Over The Years

Hollywood 411
6 min readAug 16, 2022

“I enjoy what I do immensely, and a big reason for that is because I aim to constantly push for creativity and originality no matter the project or my role.” — James Hill.

We recently caught up with gifted filmmaker James Hill about his current endeavors in the film industry as well as his early years pursuing his career. Here is what he had to share:

Please give us an introduction as to when you first got into the entertainment industry:

My first experience in entertainment was making videos with my friends as a teenager; using the family camcorder and VHS player to edit my own videos. This continued into university (college) when my friend and I would make short sketches and films.

I officially got into the entertainment industry when I was 21 years old. I started out working for free at various production companies in London; crashing on friends’ couches and working at restaurants, so I could get some experience. I started working as a runner (PA) for a number of production companies before becoming an intern for RDF TV. There I worked on multiple different productions, ranging from gameshows, hidden camera, documentaries and comedies.

After that, I worked for a show where I was able to start shooting, which started me on my journey to become a producer / director / camera operator.

Do you feel like you have grown a lot more as an artist over the years, through your experiences?

I definitely feel like I have grown as an artist, but perhaps “changed” as an artist may be a more accurate definition.

I enjoy what I do immensely, and a big reason for that is because I aim to constantly push for creativity and originality no matter the project or my role. As I have come up through the years my understanding of what is possible, practical and pays off is constantly growing deeper. There may have been more seemingly “artistic” moments earlier on in my career; for example, an idea for a creative camera shot. However, having tried a version of that shot in different ways over the years and now knowing what version works and when, I have it ready for when it will work for the greatest effect.

This has happened so many times, with so many different aspects of my work, that while I am in arguably a less “creative role” as I have much more responsibility, I am able to bring a wealth of original and creative ideas that I know will work and elevate what ever project I am working on.

What has been one of your favorite projects to work on so far?

I have a few favorite projects for different reasons; I am extremely fond and proud of the short film “Give Me Back My Shine’, but I think ‘The Parent Test’, one of my latest, may be my current favorite. It was a fascinating mix of follow documentary style filming, hidden camera “challenges” and studio discussion with the whole production revolving around genuine love. There were no losers; just twelves families who adored their children and all wanted to learn how to be better parents. I studied Psychology at university (college) and it’s remains a real interest of mine, so this project was also fascinating to me as it really examined the impact of “nature” on how someone grows up.

It was incredibly rewarding creatively and emotionally. I think it’s going to be very successful and I look forward to working on it again.

What has been one of the biggest highlights/achievements of your career?

I think working on projects that are nominated or even win awards is always a great feeling, however I think the biggest highlights are the moments I’ve had with contributors were they are genuinely happy to have taken part in the project. I’m extremely conscious when working with talent and contributors, that while I want to get the best out of them, they never feel inauthentic, manipulated or even just regret saying or doing something. This isn’t always easy, especially when filming dangerous, emotionally challenging or sensitive moments; but when someone takes the time to approach me at wrap, or even a period of time after the production has finished, it always means a lot and reminds me how important it is.

Who has been one of your favorite actors/filmmakers you have worked with so far and why?

I have worked with so many great people over the years and learned so much from each of them. Two people that stand out to me are Jennifer Fazey and Max Barber. Both are incredible at what they do, extremely talented and creative, but they also ooze calm, confident energy that affects the whole production and trickles down to everyone working under them. They both took time they didn’t really have to teach me and showed that they trusted me to do what they had brought me on to do. They helped me learn this lesson early on and I try to emulate that on whatever project I work on.

What other projects do you have coming up?

I am hopefully continuing with a company I have worked with recently to Co-EP one of their upcoming shows, however they are all in the final stages of being green lit so I can’t say too much, but I am very excited about one that is hopefully coming to Fox next year.

What is your best piece of advice for aspiring artists?

“It’s only TV”; this is something I heard from the executive producer of the first show I APed on when I was getting incredibly stressed about one of my shoots falling apart. This EP truly cared about the production and pushed for the best in every situation. She was never flippant or neglectful about any aspect of her role, in fact the exact opposite. She went on the teach me a lot about ones emotional investment and attitude towards the industry and their work, and how it effects the quality of the project.

My advice for anyone entering the industry or coming up, is that it’s great to be passionate, it’s great to be invested and it’s great to want the best in every situation, but to also remember that this industry is dependent on so many uncontrollable variables and even more unpredictable; human nature. It’s stressful and anxiety inducing at times, but don’t let those who try to make it seem like the world is ending when things are going wrong influence your emotion or attitude. No one’s best work can be done in that state. It leads to hasty decisions and potentially ones you may regret. Not to mention how it can effect your mental health and well-being.

Instead, take a few deep breaths and practice being the calm in the storm, remain present and mindful and roll with the punches. This will not only keep you in a better place so you can do better in your role, but over time, makes you unfazed in whatever may come your way. This is not to be confused with not being prepared; always plan ahead and be forward thinking. However if, or more likely when, certain things don’t go to plan, it’s just another day in this fun, rewarding industry you get to work in. I work with so many different people and always find those who are overly stressed or negative never achieve the same results as those who stay calm and positive.

For more info on James, visit:

jamesolavhill.com

--

--

Hollywood 411

Entertainment News, Features & Interviews by Chief Editor Amber Claire